Posted by: Mojo Jojo | May 5, 2008

Bangalore

I love this city one moment, I hate it the next. But I love it more because it’s closest to what I could call home right now.
I remember the first time I came to Bangalore for a job. I stayed here for fifteen days and ended up spending five grand, losing my brand new mobile phone to some petty thief, not getting the job anyway – and when I finally decided to buy myself a ticket back home with some borrowed money, somebody pinched that too.
Back then, I thought Bangalore was a harsh city… it wouldn’t let me stay, nor would it let me leave. It was only because I knew a few friends here that I finally managed to get into that homebound bus. And even as I watched the city lights recede into the dark horizon, I found myself vowing that I’ll never ever return.
Two years later, I found myself working with a media organisation in the very place I had decided to keep myself off. Don’t know why – guess Bangalore wasn’t done with me yet.
But it grows on you, this place. After a while, you don’t mind all that traffic trying to envelope you from all sides; you don’t mind that autorickshaw guy yelling at you because you aren’t willing to give him a hundred buck note more than the twenty he actually deserves (not that I really travel much by three-wheeler, though) ; you don’t really feel all that suicidal after seeing the twentieth traffic cop try to get a bribe out of you by accusing ol’ Avril of doing something it couldn’t possibly do; and, no, the nagging desire to hit that super-honker driver behind you with a brick finally splutters and dies with time. And you tend to become more careful with your wallet.
Because there came a time when I realised that it’s my world to be – like it or not. No… it may not be where I intend to stay a lifetime, but until the day I catch a train out of this place, it’s going to be home for me. And I shall love it.

Responses

  1. Good to see you’re writing. City life is always interesting with it’s noise, people and that other stuff that gives us things to write about.

  2. Hey Cats! It’s been such a long time… how you doing? Yeah, this time I have decided to continue writing, no matter what… and even if there’s absolutely nothing in my head. And city life helps a lot πŸ™‚

  3. πŸ™‚ twinky

  4. Ha ha. That said a lot πŸ™‚

  5. Glad you liked Bangalore. My experience with B’lore was not all to pleasant. Glad to have you back. Keep penning though once in a while. πŸ˜‰

  6. πŸ˜› yeah i’m quite the one with words.

  7. Bangalore is such! Ever enticing!! Enjoy while it lasts, for later you are gonna miss it a hell lot!

  8. @ Mattiz: I know what you mean. Bangalore seemed like hell to me when I first came here. Well, it hasn’t become paradise yet (some say the Metro rail is gonna make it so) but now it seems so much better. really

    @ Creepy Suzie: Yeah. That you are. And you have a way with throwing bottles around too πŸ™‚

    @ Candid: Yeah, I know :(. I am missing it already, now that i know I am not going to be around for very long.

  9. watch out!

  10. oh so much… and i keep telling that chennai treats me really bad… anyways… i kinda teach myself to love this place.. and i actually manage.. and then i go home for a long vacation, and you’ve got to start all over again…..
    its been 2 months, and i now dread having to eat from a hotel again……

    ab

    btw, it was i who kept bugging you on orkut….. gotit?

  11. just bloghopping when i came across yours. i really dont want to say anything, but thought i would say hi to a fellow mallu, though i am not particularly fond of mallus. kerala was suffocating. maybe that’s a bit too harsh, but trivandrum sure was one sick place. screwed my childhood, kind of. which i why i left as soon as i could. and reached chennai. i suppose when u compare the metros (including blore and hyd in the list), it is the best place to meet intelligent people. or so i felt. all of them do have their good points. the infrastructure in delhi, the good people in bombay, the weather in blore. yet to check out calcutta. hyderabad felt like a metro in the making. most people will have their own perceptions on the whole thing. bby people hate delhi, delhi people cant stand bby. and both are mostly ignorant about chennai and have some slight inlking about blore. there was this hilarious woman i met in delhi who asked me where i did my UG. when i said madras christian college, she immediately asked, is that in bangalore? dont suppose i could do anything other than nod.
    i found blore a good place for weekend trips. though the weather doesnt particularly suit me, it is so much cooler than chennai. but the people are so shallow. or maybe my sample size isnt large enough. people say delhiites are the most arrogant people around, true, but i found some really amazing people there. just have to look a bit harder in blore, i suppose. and yes, the traffic is unbearable though u get used to it.

  12. Ohh.. I dont know about Bangalore… I am in & out of that city.. Its my native, and I feel like I don’t relate with it at all.. Nobody I grew up with is in the city.. neither is anything in blore even remotely like the city i grew up in.. Its so cosmopolitan, i cant relate much with it..

    I will not negate it too much, for i fear then, that I might actually land up and make a living there for myself sometime! That would be a ‘oopsie’ moment!! πŸ™‚

  13. yaaayy JJ… blogging again…!!
    hehe… anyways, the climate in blore is what gives it an edge over chennai, in my view….anyways, hope to se eu soon again, in good ol blore. now u know ill be a constant visitor

  14. @ Abe: Hey! Chennai isn’t a bad place, y’know. But mebbe the scorching sun over it is. Anyways, as I spent more than seven years of my life over there, I think I share a greater bond with it than Bangalore (been here for only two).
    Every other time I find myself caught in traffic jams created on the narrow alleyways of Bangalore, I find myself wishing that just mebbe … I should have been Chennai instead. No, Bangalore isn’t bad… not at all… but if Chennai had Bangalore’s climate, it could have been better than any other city in the country – I am sure.
    Btw, hey! You weren’t bugging me on Orkut. But I kinda forgot to do that thing you wanted me to… AAARGH! Sorry about that. Just that, at that time, I was on the verge of jumping ship… πŸ™‚

    @ John: And you are right, too πŸ™‚ You’d like the people in Chennai better, but I must say the weather in Bangalore is better suited to me than Chennai. Which is hot hot hot.

    @ Aparna: Yeah, I agree with you though I have never seen the ‘old’ Bangalore. The city I know was never the ‘garden city’ – it was bustling with traffic and scary cheatos from the very moment I got here. But I like it for what it is, negatives or not.

    @ Twistedspoons: Mr Mac, I presume? The weather over here is much better indeed, and it will be real nice to have you coming here now and then. Until the time I come over to Chennai, that is…

  15. Bangalore – you either hate it or love it.. There’s nothing in between πŸ™‚

  16. Remind me to write an ode to Trivandrum some time πŸ˜€ I have a mix of good and bad memories of Blore..but they are now long gone..TVM’s looking up meanwhile πŸ™‚ I wdnt say its the best city…it’s not a city after all..it does go to sleep way early..but i’ve had my share of noise and if I ever want to have that again, all i have to do is visit u Jimbo πŸ˜€

  17. Mattiz: Ah, no. But the case is quite different with cities, I think. They are all about in-betweens.

    Shain: Will do… you gotta write about Trivandrum. Comparatively uneventful but quite serene – I liked it πŸ™‚
    In fact, I think Kerala can be quite nice, as long as you have some like-minded frens to enjoy it with. But yeah, anytime you want some noise, do drop by and I shall provide you with your fill.

  18. oh well, yr damn right abt chennai with bangalore’s climate…. πŸ™‚

    and no, i didn mind if i was bugging you, but i was afraid you ddint figure out it was me… πŸ˜€

  19. Hey nice blog…enjoyed reading it.

  20. cool and interesting

    http://gentleforever.wordpress.com/2010/02/11/back-track-memories-in-india-part-onebangalore/


Leave a Reply

Categories

